I Bought a Girl Chapter 43

Hello hello~
It’s Onion again. Who else could it be?

Since I’m uncharacteristically motivated today, I might as well get a chapter done. Or at least get a lot of a chapter done.
Ah, shoot, forgot to add links to the last chapter, and a ToC for this series. Oh well, future me problems.
Or rather, computer me problems.

Anyway, no status for today, enjoy the chapter!

Translator: Onion
Editor: Onion


The Way to Spend a Long Break


[Note: We’re back to our normal PoV.]

Golden Week.
The series of holidays that marks a week off on the calendar.
As a civil servant, I’m also affected by the holidays, so even though it was almost noon I was taking it easy as usual. I don’t know if she was also taking it easy this morning, but Ruri-chan had been studying at the table the whole time.
This year’s Golden Week has seven days, and today is the second.
Yesterday was spent like a normal day off, buying food at the supermarket together with Ruri-chan and making dinner, just a normal day.
And today we had no plans in particular, and just relaxed.
When I look at Ruri-chan, it somehow calms me down.
It might be a hindrance, but I end up just wanting to talk about useless things.

“Hey, Ruri-chan?”
“Yes?”
“What are you studying?”
“Writing kanji.”

When I looked in the notebook, various kanji were written closely on the vertically-aligned squares.

“Is studying fun?”
“Yes.”
“Ooh. That makes me glad.”

As a teacher, seeing a child that likes studying gives me a very happy feeling. Teachers can’t help but want to give special treatment to those kinds of kids.

“Does Ruri-chan not have plans for Golden Week?”
“No.”
“Why not play with your friends?”
“Reo-kun and Hiroto-kun said they were going on a trip with their families. Sasaki-san is also going on a trip.”

Hmm? Sasaki-san is a new name. It’s great she’s making friends, but it can’t be another guy, can it…?
[TLN: Sasaki’s gender isn’t specified in JP.]

“Sasaki-san?”
“I just became friends with her. It’s the first girl friend I’ve made.”

Ruri-chan answers happily. I’m glad too. Finally, a girl friend!

“I see… Wait, everyone’s on a trip, huh?”

It’s Golden Week after all. Going on a trip is understandable.
Ruri-chan doesn’t say she wants this or that, and doesn’t mention if she wants to go here or there, so I’m getting a little worried.
Now’s a good time to ask.

“Ruri-chan, do you have a place you want to go to?”
“Hmm…”

Now, say any place you want! Lay it on me!
I’ve got a lot of money, so we can go anywhere you want!

“I want to see grandpa and Masachika-san’s mom.”
“Eh?”
“Is that not okay?”
“No, it’s not not okay, but…”

Why that choice?

“I was thinking like, overseas or something.”
“I don’t know much about foreign countries, so I want to start with something closer first.”

That means Ruri-chan also has some ideas, huh.
They do say “to know your enemy, first know your allies”, but it’s more like “if you want to know what’s outside, start with what’s around you,” or something.

[TL: Proverbs suck. If you’ve got an idea then please tell me.]

“Then, let’s go this evening. Let’s have dinner with grandpa today, and we’ll visit mom tomorrow.”
“Okay.”

Ruri-chan responds with a slightly bouncy voice. She’s excited, how cute.

“Then, I’ll contact grandpa.”

I picked up my mobile phone and immediately called grandpa.

“Hello?”
“Oh, hi, grandpa? It’s me, it’s me.”
“Is this a new type of scam?”
“The ‘it’s me’ isn’t even new at all!”
“Hohoho. It’s been a while. You hadn’t called in a long time so I got worried.”
“My bad, my bad. But you know what they say, ‘no news is good news,’ right?”
“That is indeed true.”

He seems as healthy as usual.

“I was thinking of stopping by this evening, is that alright?”
“I have no plans whatsoever. I am always at home.”
“I see, I see. Then, we’ll come by this evening to have dinner together.”
“I’ll be waiting.”
“Mm. Bye~”

As I hang up, I look at Ruri-chan, who was staring at me.

“He said it was fine to come.”
“I’m glad.”
“Then, let’s go when it’s evening.”
“Yes.”

After saying that, Ruri-chan and I returned to taking it easy.


Author note:

Thank you for reading this far.
I would be happy if you commented your thoughts.

Unlike yesterday [TL: Last chapter]’s feeling of “movement”, today was “quiet”.
Sometimes you need this sort of stuff.

Look forward to next time!


TL Notes:

Since there’s not much important to say, I’ll talk about Golden Week. It’s a series of national holidays that span about 7 days. I believe it can differ between 7 and 8 from year to year, which is why the distinction of “7 days” was made earlier. Though I’m not 100% sure, look it up if you’re really curious.

It’s actually kinda funny, because I think GW is going on right now in Japan.

2 thoughts on “I Bought a Girl Chapter 43

Leave a comment