“Evil Delinquent Character” Chapter 1

EDIT: The series has been deleted from Narou by the author for some unknown reason. If it comes back up, then I’ll get back on translating it, but for now, it’s best to consider this dropped. Sorry, everyone.

EDIT (again): The series is back! It’s on Kakuyomu now instead of Narou, and I think the author cited that the “reincarnation” tag on Narou is a bit too wide-reaching. Anyway, it’s back, and so I’ll get right back on translating it!

Hey! It’s Onion here again. It’s been quite a while, hasn’t it?
No over-the-top energy today, just a quick explanation: This is a story I saw new on Narou a couple days ago. As of right now, it only has three chapters out, so I have no idea how good it’ll be, but the first chapter looked interesting so I’m here now.
Enjoy!

Translator: Onion
Proofreader: Onion


Chapter 1: Reincarnation

Standing in front of the mirror was a me that wasn’t me.

Hair dyed brown, multiple ear piercings, sharp eyes, and a stern-looking face. Tall and muscular too.

As the morning sunlight came in, I pinched my cheeks in front of the mirror and thought, “who the hell is this guy?” The memories of yesterday come flooding in along with the sharp pain in my cheeks.

Because I had to work overtime day after day for months, I remember falling asleep in the entrance hall of my apartment building right after returning. And when I woke up, I was lying on the bed, and unconsciously washed my face in the bathroom, when I realized.

I’ve become someone I don’t know. And if you ignore that, I don’t even know where this is. It’s not the one-room, messy apartment where I lived alone, but a big, well-cleaned house that makes it seem like I’m living with someone else.

Very confused, I looked at my hands. It was clear that the large, rough hands were not my own. There were scars that looked like they came from me punching something, and a flashy silver skull ring is on a finger.

“The hell’s going on?”

A completely unfamiliar voice from my own came out of my mouth. It’s unfamiliar, but definitely mine.

At that moment, I heard footsteps coming from the hallway. In a panic, I thought that I needed to hide, but there was no place in this bathroom to hide this well-built body, so I just ended up standing there doing nothing.

I recognized the figure that came through the door. I shouldn’t know this, but somehow I know this is my little sister.

“Eh? Onii-chan is awake this early in the morning? At 7 in the morning? No way!”

The person who seems to be my little sister looks at me with a surprised expression.

For someone who always took the first train to work like me, waking up at 7 in the morning actually feels like I’m late, but for the “me” that I’ve become it seems like this was pretty early. What the hell are your living habits, “me”?

“Are you going to school today? I guess your record is starting to get really bad, like your attendance.”

“Huh? Uh, yeah…”

“Right now, I’ve got to get ready this morning, so move it. I can’t do my makeup.”

Saying that, (the person that I think is) my sister pushes me aside and goes in, taking cosmetics out of her pouch and starts putting on makeup in front of the mirror.

The me right now looks a lot like a delinquent, but my sister also looks a lot like a gyaru [1]. She doesn’t have piercings, but her hair is dyed brown like mine, and she’s putting on makeup that polishes her gyaru-like looks.

As I watched from the side, the fog in my head started to clear.

Like someone was talking inside of my head, something started to explain what was going on. It wasn’t with words, but with a more abstract-like feeling, but I understood what it was saying.

According to the mysterious explanation, this is definitely what you would call “reincarnation.” 

The “dead human is reborn in another world and rises up in that world” thing.

And according to the head-explanation, this is “the world of a romcom”.

I don’t know which manga, novel, game, anime or whatever it’s based off of, but any way I’ve been reincarnated into a world where young men and women live out their sweet-and-sour youths.

When I was in high school and college, I was so obsessed with romantic comedy manga, novels, games, and anime, that I proudly call myself the “romcom professor”, so I know what kind of a world a romcom is very well.

But in my memories, I don’t remember dying. Maybe… I thought I fell asleep at the entrance, but actually died of overwork-

“Onii-chan, I’m ready. You can use the mirror, so go brush your teeth and wash your face. It’s your first time at school in a while so stay strong, yeah?”

“Uh, yeah…”

After my sister left, I turned to the mirror and confirmed my situation.

If the explanation in my head was right, and I really died from overwork and reincarnated, then I just got a chance to redo my life. In my colorless youth, I didn’t have friends, and that didn’t change even after studying hard to go to university. I got a job after going through many interviews and then kept working until I literally died. I didn’t even have a lover.

If this really is the world of a romcom, I’d have a cute childhood friend, be good friends with the student council president, have a beautiful girl in the seat next to mine in class, and be a popular protagonist with the heroines. If you’re reincarnated into the world of a romcom, this kind of colorful youth is obviously waiting for you.

But. BUT.

“No matter how you look at it, I’m the ‘delinquent villain character’ who only appears to make the protagonist shine brighter…”

…It seems like my second life won’t go that well either.


And that’s the chapter! You see what I mean by “it looks interesting”? I’m excited to see where this goes, and it’s the first time I’ve followed a series being updated live from chapter one. I’ll probably update this when I can, aiming for every other day, since the chapters are fairly short, but I might not make that, and if that happens, I apologize in advance. I’ll also make and update a page that has the full title and a ToC and all that in a while, so bear with me on that as well. I’m lazy.

Anyway, TL note:
[1] – Gyaru: A fashion trend in Japan that includes flashy makeup, revealing/flashy clothes, and do very… popular(?)-like things. I dunno how to describe it better than the internet, so it’s probably better if you look it up. Sorry. orz

4 thoughts on ““Evil Delinquent Character” Chapter 1

Leave a comment